Sex Offenders Division
The Faulkner County Sheriff's Department is releasing the following information pursuant to Section 13 of Act 989 of 1997, the Sex and Child Offender Registration Act, and the community notification guidelines promulgated by the Commission on Abuse, which authorizes Law Enforcement Agencies to inform the public of a sex offender's release. Such information will enhance public safety and protection.
Registered Sex Offenders on the Web
All sex offenders required to register in the State of Arkansas must submit to assessment by the Sex Offender Screening & Risk Assessment Program coordinated by the Arkansas Department of Correction. Each offender is assigned a community notification level based on the results of the assessment. Offenders failing to submit to assessment are assigned by default to a community notification level of 3, but may also be considered for assignment as level 4.
Arkansas Code Annotated §12-12-913 (j)(1)(A), mandated that information on registered sex offenders determined to require the broadest level of notification to the public (Level 3 and Level 4), must be available on the Arkansas state website by January 1, 2004. Pursuant to §12-12-911(Viii), Level 2 offenders that appear on the website are offenders that were 18 years of age or older at the time of the commission of the sex offense and the victim was 14 years of age or younger. Registered sex offenders who have not yet been assessed with a final community notification level are not included on this website.
The individual who appears on this notification has been convicted of an offense that requires registration with the Arkansas Crime Information Center. Further, his/her previous criminal history places him/her in a classification level that reflects the potential to re-offend.
This Offender has advised the Faulkner County Sheriff's Department that he/she will be living in the location listed in this report. HE/SHE IS NOT WANTED BY THE POLICE. THE NOTIFICATION IS NOT INTENDED TO INCREASE FEAR; RATHER, IT IS OUR BELIEF THAT AN INFORMED PUBLIC IS A SAFER PUBLIC.
The Faulkner County Sheriff's Department has no legal authority to direct where a Sex Offender lives. Unless court-ordered restrictions exist, this Offender is free to live where he/she chooses.
Sex Offenders have always lived in our communities, but it wasn't until this passage of the Sex and Child Offender Registration Act that law enforcement even knew where they were living. In many cases, law enforcement is now able to share that information with you. CITIZEN ABUSE OF THIS INFORMATION TO THREATEN, INTIMIDATE OR HARASS REGISTERED SEX OFFENDERS WILL NOT BE TOLERATED. Further, abuse could potentially end law enforcement's ability to do community notification. We believe the only person who wins if community notification ends is the Offender since sex offenders derive their power through secrecy.
For additional information on safety and education for how you can prevent, identify, and respond, visit https://www.nsopw.gov/en/SafetyAndEducation You can also click on the link https://www.ark.org/offender-search/index.php for the sex offender registry on Arkansas Crime Information Center's website
LEVEL OF RISK FOR ADULT AND JUVENILE OFFENDERS
Based on historical data and information obtained from the risk assessment process, offenders are assigned to the following levels of risk to the general public:
- LOW RISK-1: Usually these are individuals with no prior history of sexual acting out, and no strong antisocial tendencies, sexual compulsions, or psychological factors impairing judgment.
- MODERATE RISK-2: Usually these are individuals with limited or circumscribed prior history of sexual acting out, possess some antisocial personality characteristics, predatory tendencies, or deviant sexual interest or behavioral patterns that increase the general level of risk these offenders pose. They may have mild or well-controlled mental disorders, and/or developmental disabilities.
- HIGH RISK-3: These individuals usually have histories of repeat sexual offending, and/or strong antisocial, violent, or predatory personality characteristics. Sexual compulsions are likely to be present but may be kept under control when relapse prevention plans are followed and treatment is continued. The offense patterns of these individuals reflect a relatively high probability of re-offense and/or a risk of substantial injury to victims should re-offense occur.
- SEXUALLY DANGEROUS PERSON-4: These are individuals with impaired judgment or control who have sexual or violent compulsions that they lack the ability to control. This may be due to pedophilia or other disorder of sexual attraction, mental illness, or personality disorder that distorts thinking, interferes with behavioral control, and predisposes the person to acts of predatory sexual violence.
If you know of a sex offender, not in compliance, or if you have questions regarding a sex offender or sex offender laws, please call Sex Offender Coordinator Chelsea McDaniel at 501-450-4917 or email her at firstname.lastname@example.org You can also submit an anonymous tip at https://www.fcso.ar.gov/