Level 3 Sex Offender Arrested
Pursuant to 12-12-909, offenders who claim to be homeless shall verify registration every thirty (30) days during the period of time in which the offender is required to register as a sex offender and claims to be homeless.
On April 10, 2018, Ms. Birmingham came into the office and registered as homeless. Ms. Birmingham was advised that she needed to call weekly to update where she is staying and also needed to come in every 30 days to register since she is listed as homeless.
On July 25, 2018, during a review of sex offender files it was discovered that Ms. Birmingham is still registered as "homeless” and was last in our office on 6/4/18. Per Arkansas State law if a sex offender is registered as homeless they are required to verify registration every 30 days during the period of time in which the offender is required to register as a sex offender and claims to be homeless. Ms. Birmingham was not in compliance with Arkansas State Sex Offender laws at this time.
On July 30, 2018, Ms. Birmingham was taken into custody at the Faulkner County CID Office and transported to Unit 2 of the Faulkner County Detention Center where she is currently awaiting first appearance. She is facing a charge of Failure to comply with registration and reporting requirements, a Class C Felony.
If you know of a sex offender not in compliance or if you have questions regarding a sex offender or sex offender laws, please call Inv. Vanda Phillips at 501-450-4917 or e-mail her at firstname.lastname@example.org or you may submit an anonymous tip at www.fcso.ar.gov